Last week we had a great presentation from Dave Cormier discussing his model of rhizomatic learning. At first listen I disagreed with much of what he was saying. After listening to the presentation a second and then a third time, he has convinced me of some valid points to his model. The “Why” of education is very important and I agree with Dave that all educators will never be able to agree on the “what” to teach. The normative for some will be quite different then for others. Dave admitted that he doesn’t know what skills will be needed in the future, I would agree many skills needed in the future are hard to pin down, but I believe that the skills needed in the future will have to be skills that are important in addition to the current skill we teach. Our students are going to have to learn more then we did as students. The workers that the education system previously produced will have to continue to be produced, most of the 7 billion people in the world are workers.(Is that because the education system made them that way or because that is what they want to be? Another question for another time, perhaps). To a certain degree I agree with Dave’s idea that I , as a teacher, am a soldier, but I am a soldier that works with other soldiers and workers to produce nomadic working soldiers.

So do we create nomads, or are all students nomadic and our current education system, stomps the creativity out of the nomads to create workers? I really appreciated the remarks Dave made about the structure necessary to create an environment where the nomads can flourish. As a construction teacher safety is a large everyday concern for me. Without long term plans that promote students to learn and master skills safely many nomads would learn lessons the hard way. My students are slowly encouraged to become(use their already exsisting) creative as they become more proficient with basic skills.This is where I create the space for nomadic learning.

I disagree, with Dave concerning the knowledge vs. memory part of the presentation. I think when we memorize things(master them), lets say for the sake of argument the times tables, it allows us the freedom to use our brains to solve more complex problems without struggling through the easy steps again and again. Do we really want our students growing up googling 6×7 every time they need to compute it? The point Dave made about the “real point of learning” or “isness”(Wynton Marsalis) really struck home with me. The moment that you see the look on a students face that shows he/she gets it, where the learning becomes part of them, something that they will never forget. As a teacher these, sometimes few and far between, moments are the most rewarding.

In my teaching I would like to think that I have an open syllabus. Or do I? Reflecting I think I give the students opportunities to be creative and learn different concepts at different times in different ways, but not until they are in grade 11 or 12. So does my teaching stifle them in grade 9 or 10, or is that when I build the relationships ( get to know what they need)  and start to create the structure I think they need to become rhizomatic learners in grades 11 and 12?

Hmmm? Just more stuff to think about.