I just got a chance to listen to last weeks class again today. The more I learn the less I know. I did find a great site about twitter and how helpful it is to educators. If you are a newbie Class this week was similar to a presentation I saw Alec give at Balfour Collegiate on one of our PD days last spring. His presentation at Balfour was one of the reasons I took this class. Little did I know what I was getting myself into. I’m not a computer/social media person at all. I don’t have a Facebook account, had never used Twitter, rarely do I ever need to give a power point presentation. Teaching construction is a lot of hands on demonstrations then allowing the students to safely try and repeat the process and get similar results.  I see the computer as a tool, one of many that I need to use to teach. Having seen the last 3 weeks of presentations I’m starting to see the bigger picture social media can bring to teachers and their classrooms.

For my project I am going to try and produce Youtube videos that my students, as well as other construction students can use at a touch of a button. My idea, which isn’t original by any means, is to create videos that will reteach students how to perform certain operations, link them to a QR code and have the students be able to watch the videos using their smart phones. This will cause me great stress, because currently I don’t allow cell phones in the shop, they are too distracting. I’m thinking of setting up a “cellphone booth” or station where cell phones are permitted, but only in that area. Thus, allowing students to use the technology, while also allowing them to be safe when using the hazardous equipment. I would love to hear any suggestions or criticisms anyone has for me.